De Bruyne reacts to equaling Ronaldo and Henry’s record by saying, “It’s crazy”

On Sunday, Kevin De Bruyne became only the third player in history to win the PFA Player of the Year award in consecutive seasons.

Arsenal’s record goalscorer Thierry Henry and Manchester United’s Cristiano Ronaldo are the only other players to have done so.

In the 2002/03 and 2003/04 seasons, Henry became the first player to win two PFA Player of the Year awards in a row. In the 2006/07 and 2007/08 seasons, Ronaldo followed suit.

De Bruyne has now joined the Premier League legends in the record books after winning the 2019/20 and 2020/21 PFA awards, 13 years after Ronaldo equaled Henry’s record.

“It’s crazy, isn’t it?” said De Bruyne on Manchester City TV.

“You talk about two legends in the game. One of the best strikers and probably one of the top two players in the world ever. To do the same thing as them is actually crazy.”

In 25 appearances, the former Chelsea midfielder scored six goals and added 12 assists to help City win their third Premier League title in four seasons.

Manchester City teammates Ilkay Gundogan, Phil Foden, and Ruben Dias, as well as Manchester United midfielder Bruno Fernandes and Tottenham striker Harry Kane, were among the five nominees.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.